Dana’s World of Dance Weblog

Here is where it all began…

Posted on: October 15, 2008

I have been dancing since the age of 4.  I began at a studio near my house because my cousins were taking class there and that was ALL they talked about.  I wanted to be a part of it too.  I started out that September taking a half hour ballet class once a week.  It’s hard for me to remember the actual classes because it was so long ago, but I can remember the feeling I had when I came to dance.  I loved it from the moment I set foot in the building.  I use to ask my mom every morning if I could go to dance class instead of school. 

In my first recital we danced to a song from Little Orphan Annie and wore little pink flowy dresses and our hair slicked back in tight buns.  I enjoyed being on stage and had no problem dancing out in the bright lights, even at such a young age.   

The next year I begged my mother to let me take more classes and thankfully she gave in.  I took 3 half hour classes, one Ballet, one Tap, and one Jazz.  I was hooked and I didn’t want to do anything else.  After watching me dance around in the outfield during a pee-wee softball game, my parents decided it was time to focus on one thing.  It was obvious to them that I didn’t care about anything else, especially softball.  I switched to a new studio, where the classes were an hour long and ballet was the main focus. 

I continued to work my way up through the studio year after year and at the age of 10, I was asked to join the dance company.  The company included taking a certain amount of classes throughout the week and also adding a special company rehearsal on Saturdays.  We did extra things like participated in dance competitions, danced at nursing homes and charity benefits, were the entertainment at pageants and sports events and even had our own dance company showcase every year before the recital. 

By that point in my dance education, I was coming to dance class every night for at least 2 hours.  It became the only thing that I was able to do besides school.  I could not find time to participate in school sports, clubs or organizations, but I didn’t mind.  I was very close with all of my friends at the studio and we began to think of ourselves as a family away from home because we spent so much time together.

At the age of 17, my senior year of high school, I was asked to become an assistant teacher.  Along with the many hours I spent taking classes, I was also assisting 4 to 5 classes per week and learning what it was like to switch roles and act as a teacher instead of a student.  I found this very different and almost weird but eventually it became comfortable.  At this time I was spending about 10-15 hours per week at the dance studio. 

When it came time to graduate, it was a very exciting yet emotional time.  I found it harder to leave the dance studio and the tight knit family we had created there than to leave high school.  I wasn’t planning on pursuing a career in dance and even thought I still planned to take classes in college and complete a minor, I knew dancing was never going to be the same for me.  I still wanted dance to be a part of me. 

To my surprise and delight, I was offered a job to teach at the studio the following season.  I was very excited to still be able to take part in the studio I had practically grown up in.  I have been teaching there for the past 4 years, instructing classes in ballet, tap, jazz, and jazz funk.  Teaching dance is the main reason I have decided to become an elementary school teacher.  I love to dance and learn and want to pass that love on to as many children as possible.

 

Here is the website to the studio where I currently teach…

It describes the mission of the studio, the classes it offers, descriptions of the different dance styles, spotlights on special events/people and bios of the entire staff. 

www.triciasloandance.com

While searching the web, I also found this website that discusses almost anything you need to know about dance like diet/nutrition for dancers, technique, performance, choreography, dance history and so much more…it’s very interesting.

http://www.dancehelp.com/

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • dancer 4eva: i love this site i love ballet dancing and i really enjoyed reading this.
  • sandon48: I got all of the photos on my blog from google image searches
  • Keeley Sullivan: Where did you get the image of the dancer you used in your blog? Is it your image?

Categories

